Budapest Day One

Friday 15.40

The flight took about two hours, not too bad. I had already decided on taking a taxi since I had read it was cheap.

From the airport to the Pest side of the city, the taxi cost me 7000HUF (24€) and it took about 40 min because of the traffic. There is a special desk outside the airport where you “book” your taxi, I got mine right away though. I guess it’s just for security reasons, to be sure it’s a reliable taxi company.

I stayed at The Continental Hotel located in the old Jewish Ghetto from the second world war. It was very classy, when I arrived in my cab they politely opened the door for me welcoming me to the hotel. The room was fresh with a normal sized bathroom, big bed and a huge window. I was very pleased.

My boyfriend waited for me at the hotel since he came straight from Prague. He had made dinner reservations at a nice restaurant recommended by the hotel. We headed there straight away to make it to our 20.30 o’clock.

It was a short walk to Restaurant Aszú Étterem. They took our coats at the door and showed us in. It was a large room with a high ceiling, linnen cloths and live music, at the same time not a strict dresscode.

We asked the waiter what he recommended and he was very proud of the hungarian meat, so oviously that’s what I ordered. I was not let down, the meat was tender and it came with a side of mashed potatoes and apples. The best of all, it wasn’t more expensive than a regular dinner here in Sweden. I really recommend going to a nicer restaurant here in Budapest, it’s worth the money!

img_7799

On the way in search for some bars we passed the Szent Istvan Bazilika, it was beautiful the way it was lit at night.

img_7801-1
The staff at the hotel had aslo mensioned “ruin bars”, so that was our main target in the search for a drink. We found a cool bar with a Mexican theme, a lot of peaple, cheap beer 500HUF (1.5€) and a good ambiance. It was a bit tricky to find, so keep your eyes open. There are supposed to be a lot more than the one we found.

We stayed out for a bit, found a passage full of different bars, and also turists. The last bar was a Tiki bar with a polynesian theme and smoking drinks.

 

Saturday 00:24
~M

Leave a Reply

